Unitarian Historical Society

Unitarian Historical Society

The Society was founded in 1915 and exists to encourage and support the study of all aspects of Unitarian history, including that of constituent and related traditions such as English Presbyterianism, the General Baptists, Universalist churches, the Methodist Unitarian movement, the Non-Subscribing Presbyterian Church of Ireland, and other bodies and groups.

The Society is run by an elected Council and members of the Society receive a copy of its Transactions each April, details of which can be found on this site.

Annual Meeting

An annual general meeting and lecture is held alongside the annual meetings of the General Assembly of Unitarian and Free Christian Churches at a different location each year. Speakers in recent years have included Dr David Wykes, Rev Dr Leonard Smith, Alan Ruston, Professor M.A. Stewart, Rev Andrew Hill, Graham Hague, Dr Alison Kennedy, Rev Dr Ann Peart, Professor David Bebbington and Rev Brian Packer.

The 2012 meeting was held on Thursday, 5th April at the University of Keele when Sandra Gilpin spoke on "New Light on the Titanic: Shipbuilders and their World". [Many of those involved in the construction of the Titanic by Belfast shipbuilders Harland and Wolff (including Thomas Andrews the designer) were Unitarians. April 2012 was the centenary of its maiden voyage.]

The next meeting will be held at the University of Nottingham in April 2013 when the Rev David Shaw will speak on William Bagshaw.


Search the UHS Site:

Google: Yahoo: MSN:
Script by JavaScript Kit